1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar


Navy Cross

In the year 1919, The Navy Cross military ribbon was established by an Act of Congress.  This particular military medal is in equivalence to the Distinguished Service Cross of the Army as well as the Air Force Cross of the Air Force military branch. These United States military medals are the second highest honor authorized by the United States Navy.  The Navy Cross is awarded to Navy service members that while serving in any capacity with the Navy, exhibit extraordinary acts of heroism just under those that would justify the Congressional Medal of Honor; while fighting against an enemy of the United States; while participating in military operations involving conflict with an opposing forces; or while serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict against an opposing Armed Force in which the US is not a direct party. Honorarees of the Navy Cross are presented with this award only when their heroic acts set them apart from other comrades in which they demonstrated qualities of valor and heroism.  These recipients acts of valor have involved the risk of their own life so extraordinary as to set these individuals apart from their comrades.
The Navy Cross may be awarded to any member of the armed forces while serving with the Marine Corps, Navy, or Coast Guard, but in a period of war only. To receive these military ribbons and military medals, the act to be recognized must be performed in the presence of great danger or at great personal risk and must be performed in such a manner as to render the individual highly conspicuous among others of equal grade, rate, experience, or position of responsibility. An accumulation of minor acts of heroism does not justify presentation of one of these military medals.
The Navy Cross is the highest military medal that can be awarded by the United States Department of the Navy.  It is the second highest award given for valor and heroism. Normally, it is only awarded to members of the Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard; however, it may be presented to all branches of United States military as well as members of foreign militaries under certain circumstances. The Navy Cross was established in part due to the United States involvement into World War I. Originally, the Navy Cross was below in precedence to the Navy Distinguished Service Medal, because it was awarded for both combat heroism and for "other distinguished service." Congress revised this in the year of 1942, making the Navy Cross a combat-only award and second only to the Congressional Medal of Honor. Since its creation, it has been awarded more than six thousand three hundred times.
In accordance with Navy regulations, enlisted service members are entitled to a 10% increase in their retirement pay if presented with the Navy Cross and serving more than 20 years. These military medals are worn underneath the Congressional Medal of Honor, and above the Distinguished Service Medals of all other branches in the general order authorized in the proper positioning of military medals and military awards of the United States. Multiple military awards are represented by Gold Award Stars.  Recipients of the Navy Cross have demonstrated qualities of selfless committment to our country that set them above and beyond soldiers of the same caliber.  Because these recipients have engaged in selfless acts for our freedoms, they deserve respect from all civilians and other service members.  The Navy Cross can be found in many different military medal and military ribbon styles to provide our soldiers with the look of honor they so deserve. 

Your price: $1.25