1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar


Distinguished Service Cross

The Army Distinguished Service Cross was created by President Woodrow Wilson in the year of 1918 at the request of Expeditionary Forces of France, Commander in Cheif Genreal Pershing.  This United States military medal is second in presidence only to the Congressional Medal of Honor in awards authroized by the United States Army. They are awarded to Army service members who, while serving in any capacity with the Army, set themselves apart from their comrades demonstrating exemplary acts of heroism not quite justifying the award of a Congressional Medal of Honor; while engaged in an action against an opposing force of the US; while being engaged in military coercions that involve conflict with a foreign force; or while serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict against an opposing Armed Force in which the United States is not a primary party. These heroic acts of valor that lead to these honorable military medals of America must have been of notability and have involved selfless acts in which the individual put their own life on the line as to set these service members apart from other soldiers that served with.
During World War I, more than six thousand military ribbons of the Distinguished Service Cross were presented to six thousand one hundred and eighty five service members.  One such individual, so named Eddie Rickenbacker, the top United States ace of war, was presented with eight of these military awards, leading to the highest record received by one individual.  One of which was later upgraded to the Medal of Honor. Two recipients of the Distinguished Service Cross during World War I went on to earn the Medal of Honor in World War II – Major Theodore Roosevelt Jr., son of the former President, and Douglas MacArthur.
During World War II, more than five thousand awards were presented. Numerous recipients of the Distinguished Service Cross in earlier conflicts were again honored in World War II. Three recipients of two Distinguished Service Crosses in World War I - Douglas MacArthur, Hanford MacNider, and Harry H. Semmes - were presented with their third in World War II, and George S. Patton, Jr., won his second Distinguished Service Cross.
In the Korean War, there were just over eight hundred awards, of which over three hundred had passed on. Ten World War II recipients received a second Distinguished Service Cross in Korea. There were just over one thousand awards in the Vietnam War, almost four hundred of which were posthumous. One World War II military medal recipient, William DePuy, and two Korean War recipients, Richard E. Cavazos and Ralph Puckett, Jr., received a second Distinguished Service Cross in Vietnam. Since the year 2009 after Vietnam, there were nineteen Distinguished Service Crosses awarded — five awards were presented during Operation Enduring Freedom and thirteen deserving individuals were honored in Operation Iraqi Freedom.
Enlisted service members honored with the Distinguished Service Cross and retiring with over 20 years of service are entitled to a 10% increase in their retirement pay according to Army regulations. These military medals are to be worn underneath the Congressional Medal of Honor, and to be situated above Distinguished Service Medals of all branches in accordance with the proper display of United States military medals and military ribbons. Multiple honors are represented by Oak Leaf Clusters. These military ribbons and military medals are available in different styles to include slide on products as well as custom made products. Soldiers receiving the Distinguished Service Cross deserve the upmost respect for their selfless acts of valor in defense of our country.  Many civiliand will never understand or experience the heroic sacrifices these individuals make.

Your price: $1.25